skip to main content skip to footer

Our Rich History

History of Hermann

The German Settlement Society of Philadelphia settled in the town of Hermann, Missouri in 1837. Drawn to the Missouri River and the picturesque hills, reminiscent of the Rhine River valley, their goal was to create a German homeland in the west where life could be “in all ways German”. The German pioneers quickly turned to their heritage of wine making which was well suited to the terrain and climate. By 1850, most of Hermann’s 930 residents were involved with the growing wine industry, where over ten thousand gallons of wine were produced annually. In the 1800’s, neighbors and friends frequently gathered and traveled house to house enjoying wine, food and music of the region. The Golden Age of the small house winery had arrived by 1865 with wine production prevalent throughout the city and county. By the 1870 census, two hundred thousand gallons of wine were produced in Gasconade County. East Hill played a prominent role in the house winery industry and is featured in Robyn’s 1869 “Birds-Eye View of Hermann” where the house wineries are shown surrounded by grape vineyards and fruit orchards. Enjoy your stay in one of the stone houses of East Hill, a one of a kind experience.

image486141
image486149

History of The Inn At Hermannhof

Located in the heart of the Hermann historic district, a stay at the Inn at Hermannhof places you in the center of Hermann activities. The Festhalle on the first floor is home to the finest Hermann festival activities and special events. Hermannhof Winery is a short stroll down First Street. Conveniently located at the corner of First and Gutenberg, the Missouri River to the north and the Amtrak station less than a block away connect you to the oldest and the most modern transportation systems. Originally the site of an 1869 building destroyed by fire in 1886, the building was reconstructed yet that year in the latest Second Empire style to house the Monnig store, a hardware, mercantile, pharmacy and post office all in one, with the upper floors the home of its prominent proprietor. In 2007 the total restoration of the building was completed and is now home to the Inn at Hermannhof.

The History behind the Hermannhof Weinhaus Cottages

Weinert Haus Winery Cottage

Originally build by Joseph Weinert, following his purchase of the land in 1865, this stone house is clearly visible in Robyn’s 1869 “Birds Eye View of Hermann” surrounded by vineyards and orchards. Records indicate the land was purchased for $125 and sold, at Joseph’s death in 1882, for $1150; subsequently owned by the Freund family from 1882 to 1910. Professor Gustave Freund was well regarded in Hermann, having “identified himself most favorably with the educational interests of this county.” Gustave and his wife Charlotte lived in this house while he taught in Hermann. During the Civil War, Gustave enlisted in Union Army Company D, Second Regiment, Missouri Volunteer Infantry, and with his regiment took part in the Siege of Corinth, Mississippi. In 1923, Eustachiuss Weber and wife, Teresa (Will) Weber, bought this property. Teresa’s uncle, Magnus, was responsible for the construction of the arched stone bridge that once crossed Frene Creek in front of the Hermannhof Winery. This bridge is depicted in a historic photograph at the winery. The Weber family owned the house until 1960 or nearly 50 years. Clara and Dora, two sisters that never married, lived in the house for all that time.

Weinert Haus is now the location of Gustave, Joseph Weinert, Teresa’s Garden, and Christina’s room.

image486151

Berger Grass Haus Winery Cottage

Built circa 1850 by Anton Grass, a successful farmer who immigrated from Switzerland. According to the 1860 census, Mr. Grass produced 220 gallons of wine and employed a hired hand as a wine dresser. His estate listed 2050 pounds of grapes among his assets in 1880. This stone house has been carefully relocated from its original site five miles south on Frene Creek Road. Marking individual stones at the corners of the house and at windows and door openings insured the thoughtful reconstruction on its new site. Beautiful interior mahogany doors feature raised diamond panels in the German Biedermeier tradition.

Berger Grass Haus now includes Bach, Brahms, Mozart, and Wagner rooms.

image486144

Fleish Haus Winery Cottage

Built circa 1860 and sold to Christian and John Fleish, this reconstructed stone house was originally built west of Hermann on Highway 100. The two brothers from Switzerland were successful wine-makers in the small haus winery tradition, producing 2500 gallons of wine in 1870. Christian Fleish and his wife Mary made this stone house their home while John built a brick house with a stone wine cellar on an adjoining parcel. This brick house is still standing on Highway 100 West. To reconstruct this house, each course of stone was carefully numbered and re-laid to recreate the original, with its stone wine cellar some two feet thick. In 1865, Christian was drafted in Company K, of the One Hundred and Twenty-fourth Illinois Infantry, United States Army and was transferred to the Eleventh Missouri Infantry. He was in the battle of Spanish Fort and was discharged in January 1866.

Fleish Haus is now the location for the Vignoles, Chambourcin, Traminette, Chardonel, and Vidal rooms.

image486148

Hermann Haus Winery Cottage

A historic house (Circa 1840), the stone for this unique structure came from a house built on land granted to the family of the first male child born in Hermann. The child was appropriately named Herman. This historic stone haus was recreated, and the original brick house is still standing on Highway 100 West.

image486146

Hoehn Haus Winery Cottage

Relocated from its original site south of Hermann, this stone house was carefully reconstructed using exact measurements and photographic documentation. Plastered walls with arched window and door openings capture the feel of the original 1840s stone house, typical of the rural house wineries surrounding Hermann. This home was an original “wine trail” house of the 1840s and saw many parties and events in its day. Neighbors and friends frequently gathered and traveled house to house, enjoying wine, food, and music of the region. One of the first two babies born in the settlement was Karl Hoehn.

Hoehn Haus is now the location for Paradise, Heaven’s Orchard, and Angel’s Rooms.

image486147

Blust Haus Winery Cottage

Built by Johannes Blust in the 1840’s, one of the original German settlement Society members, who was granted his lot in 1838. Originally a carpenter from Wurttemberg, Germany, Blust became a winemaker. By 1870, Mr. Blust had acquired two additional acres for the production of grapes and made 700 gallons of wine. He received the, then large, sum of $575.00 for his efforts. Johann’s son, Julius, continued to produce wine in the area throughout the 1880’s. The Blust Haus is one of the oldest houses in Hermann. It has been restored on its original site. The house is half timbered, a hand hewn post and beam structure. It features brick “nogging” or infill between the posts. This is also known as fachewerk.

Blust Haus now includes the Johannes Blust room and the Himmelstreppe room.

image486145